Thursday, February 4, 2010

Under it all we're all the same

So I'm one of those people that's just friendly. I like to talk to everyone and I mean everyone. Really I guess I just like to talk. I feel weird when it's quiet and I might have to go see a therapist about it but we'll save that for later. So today I went to the indoor play area with my friend to hang out and let the kids roam free for a bit. It wasn't that busy and we scored and got a couch spot. When I got there she was sitting in an arm chair and 2 other women were sitting on the couch. I smiled at them when I sat down (got nothing in return) and started chatting with my friend. You know when you can feel someone giving you the stink eye and talking about you? I could totally tell one of the two was not liking us for some reason. Normally I could give you a hundred reasons. Maybe I talked to loud (which I do) or my kid got boogers on her stuff I don't know. But I felt it as soon as I sat down. Then she was like doing that thing where you talk too loud because you want people around you to hear your conversation. Mainly she was teaching her friend about how to wear a sling, they were talking about breastfeeding, organic eating that kind of stuff. All the same stuff my friend and I have talked about. If she had been friendlier I would of agreed with what she was talking about and we all 4 could of probably had a nice conversation and she would of realized that whatever judgements she was passing on us they were wrong. Here's the judgement from her and I can't believe it's getting ready to come out of my mouth but I think she decided what kind of mothers we were based on looks! My friend is one of those cute girls. You know the one, always been super skinny, blonde, trendy, beautiful, one of the popular girls in high school. I on the other hand have not had experience with that. I'm not saying I look like cousin it I just don't look like Cindy Crawford either. Happy with what I got (could be happier w/ nicer skin, a boob job, tummy tuck and botox but...) and really can't complain. I work hard to have a body that can strategically be tucked in in clothes to look nice and I do like to dress cute. It took me just as long to put on my rock and republic jeans and my cute sweater (sams club) as it did for this judger lady to put on her sweatshirt and jeans. You know this kind of Mom the one that hasn't lost the baby weight but also doesn't really put the effort into trying, is really opinionated about all things to do with kids, and almost goes out of her way to not look cute. The one who's giving us the looks that are based on her own insecurity. I will never understand these moms that just throw hair in a pony tail and their oldest sweats (which they probably slept in) and just go. Half the reason I want to look presentable is my kids. I also think you should at least put some effort into looking nice for your husband but that is a whole different rant. It's almost like if I wear sweats, no makeup, and don't even try to do my hair you'll know how hard I work at being a mother. You'll know I don't get enough sleep, I'm at my wits end whatever. WE all feel like that I just don't need to look like what the cat drug in. And don't judge me because I want to look cute. I want my kids to be proud of their Mom. Some days are just a sweats day. I can't be bothered to even wear a bra. Put on a sweat suit my hat and I'm gone. Today is not the day for effort. But the animosity coming from this stranger was crazy! The air was almost palpable. When the other lady pulled out her Hooter hider and started to breastfeed she seemed very uncomfortable to be doing it in front of us and I really wanted to say something to make her feel better but her friend was such a stinker. I remember the nice woman that came up to me @ a store once when my baby would not wait a minute longer to eat and the other two weren't behaving and told me she's been there. It made me feel so much better! I should of told the judger when we left that we agreed with almost everything she was ranting loudly about and if she had wanted to be friendly we could of had a nice conversation because really under it all we are all the same. We're just Mom's we all go thru the same things and do it the best we can. But it is easier to do it nicely without judgement.

No comments:

Post a Comment