Friday, February 19, 2010
I want to bring the kids. Right?
So I grew up overseas. Wonderful life, travelled everywhere, grateful for everything. The only problem is now I'm a grown up. Dad's not paying for the tickets and tickets for a family of 5 are expensive. But I need to put my feet on foreign soil. So we were going to visit Grandma and Grandpa in England and then have them babysit while we went up to Scotland with friends. Best of both worlds, can't wait! Called Grandma and she's not healthy enough to do it. Bummer for us but more worried about Grandma. So we decide to move up another trip that was in the future. We're heading to Argentina to visit a girlfriend from high school and then visit my brother who is living in Brazil. Hurry and go while we don't have to pay for hotels in either place. I knowing we don't have the money to really travel on a State employee salary put everything on a credit card that earns us miles. I'm finally trading in all these miles to set off on an adventure! Now we think let's go before the little one turns 2 so we don't have to pay for a ticket. That could save us 40,000 miles and the one way ticket from Brazil to Argentina. But seriously that takes me a year to earn a ticket can't I just have him share for 19 hours? My husband says "no way, they'll be fighting over space, need to sleep and stir crazy from being on the plane." I know he's right but I'm thinking about the other travel I can't do if we have to use those 40,000 miles. If I saved them we could go onn another trip and only have to pay for like 2 tickets. So then I start thinking about going without them. That wonderful thought lasts for about 3 minutes. I think about the sightseeing I could do and how we could have long dinners and watch all the people go by. Then the thought is interrupted by how much I would miss them and what if something happened to them and what if someone got hurt and needed me to kiss them? Ugghhh brief romantic trip over. Reality back .I would never make it. I can't make it for longer than like a day and a half. So trying to reconcile with the fact that I want to bring the kids and how much fun they would have even though they wouldn't remember a thing. It'll just be a different kind of vacation. Seeing the Iguaza falls in Argentina while making sure all three kids weren't too close to the edge or my friend said they're a great place across from the government building where you can feed the pigeons and they land on you. Like the one in Italy? But all I can picture is my 3 year old who's timid about a lot screaming and running from them like crazy. It's actually a funny visual. So i guess I just need to get the new kind of traveling in my head and realize it will be just as much fun if not more than the old way. Someday when I'm old I'll get to travel again without kids and then I'll probably want to bring my grandkids. Right?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment