Friday, January 29, 2010
Movies- A whole different experience
I love the movies. Always have always will. I'll probably work in a theater when I get old and bored just so I can watch movies all the time. Love the whole experience. Before kids we would go all the time then meet friends out. When we were pregnant we would go and then have a nice dinner. After kids is a whole different experience. Now it's all about the movie and how much time you have. If we have a lot it's get there, popcorn and fountain coke (nothing like a real fountain coke. I have a need that would rival a crack head), then get a good spot. Ater a nice dinner. With a movie like the Hangover it was movie and then drinks. I mean come on you had to have drinks with friends and laugh about it. I like to sit off center so I can look a little sideways at the screen so no one moving around, texting or talking bugs me, preferably up high. Now that a rave theater is open I get popcorn just to be able to pour massive amounts of this sugar/cinnamon seasoning on it. I used to have a goober obsession. Put 2 in your mouth suck off all the chocolate then eat the peanuts. Now I get popcorn, extra butter, pour on the seasoning and even some extra in a napkin. That part has back fired a time or two when I forgot which napkin had the seasoning and dumped it on the floor. But anyway. If we only have a little time it's movie and then home. Don't forget I pay a sitter $7 bucks an hour. I would love to have a great dinner but dinner $45-Movie-$16-popcorn$5.50 and awesome Coke $6 then 5 hours with the sitter is $35 bucks! It better be a good movie for $100! I love the movies even more now after kids because now I can go somewhere, sit in a quiet theater, be uninterupted by the kids, phone (unless the babysitter calls) and not worry about what needs to get done. Just sit back and enjoy! I love all the previews because I'm sitting there thinking about all the fun movies I'm going to see with a friend or the hubby. I have a friend that lives behind me and she loves the movies too. So we go a lot on sundays during the kids naptimes. Makes it easier for the guys and we feel less guilty. After the preview the movie starts and then I'm off on a 2 hour quiet time. I can eat my popcorn and not share. I can lose myself in the movie. Recharge my Mommy batteries so I can be the best Mommy I can be. If it's a movie about a kick ass chick I could totally do that, if it's a uplifting show it makes me want to be a better person and if it's a love story it reminds me why I love my husband and makes me want to be a better wife. If it has children in it I'm always reminded about how much I worship my little ones. Not that I need anything to remind me of that. If it's a movie where something bad happens to a kid I can almost not bare to watch it. That is the biggest difference in watching a movie. Once your a parent it's almost impossible to see some things. But for 2 hours when I'm in that movie I'm not Mommy, not the person who gets apple juice. I'm just a happy movie goer and that's a whole different experience.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment