Wednesday, January 27, 2010
The Cost of Relaxation
The cost of relaxation. I know your thinking massage, facial, sitting in a bath tub by yourself or Mommy night out and any other thing we think about doing without kids. But today I went to an indoor play area. They were offering a free Tae Kwon Do class so I brought Finley and Gavin to see if they liked it. So we paid $15 bucks while one kid was in the class the other two were playing in the play area. They have 3 big swing sets, a little kid area to play, a place to eat and it's all enclosed. They can't leave. The place checks you out together. You can sit on the couch and watch your kids play and not worry about a stranger grabbing them while your back is turned. They can have fun and you can actually RELAX. Ahhhhhhh. I mean it's great. You can sit at a table and see every inch of the place. I never realized how nice that would be. I seriously thought. What kind of moron would pay to play on a playground inside just because it might be a little hot or cold outside. But I was so wrong. They're not paying to play. Who cares what's inside. It kept my kids entertained they played for hours and I didn't have any of those horrible thoughts when I lost track of one of the kids for a half a second. It was fabulous. I mean I'm happy if the kids are happy but this was great. I don't even think I realized how uptight I was when we would go to the park. 2 was easy but now that Colin is on the move I have 3 going in all directions and it freaks me out! It's probably post traumatic stress disorder from actually losing Finley at the park once. Gavin was probably a little under a year and I was talking to Finley and then she was gone. I started calling to her. I started looking. I then started panicking. My friend grabbed her boy and started looking with me. I started running thru the park with it's stupid cowboy themed area that blocked all view. After a couple minutes I literally started freaking out. I started screaming for her, yelling at people had they seen my daughter and this is what he was wearing. And then for a second I thought "I'm going to have to call my husband and tell him I lost our daughter. " I started to pee my pants and feel like I was going to faint. I pulled myself together and a man ran over to me and asked me what she had on and he found her. If I hadn't been so happy to see her I would of kissed him. She was hiding because she had to poop and she only went about once a week so she was so constipated when she went she would go stand somewhere and push til her eyes watered. Anyway so that is why I suffer post traumatic stress flashbacks when I go to the park. And why today I was one of those morons who paid $48 big ones to have 3 kids play on a swing set exactly like the one in their backyard for a whole month. That's the cost of relaxation..at least for a month.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment